Businesses

Businesses issue cw$ through contributions to local community organisations,  then accept them in exchange for goods or service.

Community Organisations

Beneficiaries spend the cw$ or exchange it with their networks.

Individuals

People support local  economy while helping community service organisations.

How exactly does it work?

Community Way dollars (cw$) are a means of exchanging freely between members of a community (Customers), community-based Businesses and Non-Profit Organizations.

  1. Businesses within the community donate cw$ to a non-profit organization within their community.
  2. Non-profit organizations can then exchange their cw$ with supporters for Canadian $, giving them funds to operate.
  3. Supporters receive a 1:1 exchange paid in cw$.
  4. cw$ can be used to purchase goods and services at participating businesses within the community, who accept at terms they set – for instance 50% on food in a restaurant.
  5. A business earning cw$ can then spend them with another contributing business, or donate them back to another non-profit organization, or top up staff bonuses.

This cycle allows businesses to reach new customers who are looking to spend their cw$, and allows businesses to support community programs without direct cash costs.

Additionally, there are a variety of ways in which a Customer can receive cw$. The end result will always be money in a Customer‘s pocket that is ready to be spent with a community-based Business, which then continues the cycle.

Some of the ways that a Customer could receive cw$ are:

  • As payment for volunteer work with a Non-Profit Organization.
  • As a 1:1 exchange on a donation to a Non-Profit Organization.
  • As payment for personal goods a Customer may be selling (via CraigsList, etc).
  • As a ‘bonus’ from a Business employer.
  • Etc…

Which businesses are involved?

Innisfree Farm 50% 250.336.8768 innisfreefarm.ca
VI Permaculture Consulting & Education 50% 250.871.1627
All Keyed Up Music 50% tuition 250.897.3635 allkeyedup.ca
Terri Perrin Ink 50% for local non-profits, negotiable for others 250.218.4952 terriperrinink.com
CV Business Gazette 25% 250.702.1103 www.businessgazette.ca
Classique Bar Service Negotiable 250-871-1148
Two Eagles Lodge 25% on season (15 April – 15 Oct) and 50% off season excluding X-mas 250-335-2342 www.twoeagleslodge.com
Harmony Farm Hypnotherapy Negotiable 250-465-1083 www.hfcv.ca
World Community 20% on all sales 250 897-0525 www.worldcommunity.ca
Good Karma Delivery 100% to Jan 1st, then 50% on services 250-702-7152 www.theskinnedcat.com
M. Toulmin Enterprises Construction Negotiable 250-331-3322 cooperativebuilding.com
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine Centre 100% 250-339 7227 / 888-869 2772 chrisgerow.ca
Adventures in Mulberryland negotiable 250-339 3723 www.mulberryland.com
Alternative Cycles Variable between 10% and 100% 250-336 2460
April Lacheur, Artist 25% on original paintings, 50% on other merchandise 250-702 5447 www.yapespaints.com
Backdoor Gallery 50% on services 250-338 8690 edbrooks@telus.net
Bayview Chiropractic 100% 250 334 4844 www.bayviewchiro.ca
be Clothing Boutique 35% excepting sale items 250 331 0588 www.beclothing.ca
Beacon’s Workshops & Seminars negotiable 250 338-7623 earthnative@lycos.com
Broken Spoke Coffee House Bikes & Accessories – 25%,
Service – 50%, Coffee – 100%!
250-871 2229 www.thebrokenspoke.ca
Burus Consulting Ltd. Negotiable 250 898-4874
Butcher’s Block 10% (not applicable to consignment items or specials) 250-3381412
Butterfly Emerging Home and Garden Services 50% 250-337 8486 cloudforestmist@shaw.ca
Cipre Design Consortium Negotiable 250-703 3142 www.cipredesign.com
Circadian Acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine 50% 250-792 1277 circadianacupuncture@gmail.com
Cockeye’d Optical 20% towards eyeglasses 250-331 0813 www.cockeyedoptical.com
Comox Valley Auto Recyclers 30% 250-336 8555 cvautorecyclers.com
Continual Palingenesis Negotiable 250-792 2874 cp-sms.ca
Cranio Sacral Therapy by Catherine Dextrase 50% on treatments 250-702-2080 www.catherinedextrase.com
Cumberland Village Works Variable up to 20% 250-898 1056 cumberlandvillageworks.com
CV Health and Recreation Guide 25% or Negotiable 250-339 0252 www.comoxhealthandrecguide.com
CV RV Rentals 50% 250 218 8068 www.comoxvalleyrvrentals.com
Delphy’s Naturals/ Body Products 50% 250-871 0886
Eco-Centric Natural Clothing and Baby Products 30% excluding items on sale 250-338 9996 www.eco-centric.ca
Edward A Clarke, PH D, Registered Psychologist 50% or negotiable 250-338 2944 250 338 2944
Femme Natale Pole Fitness 50% 250-218 3269 fustiern@hotmail.com
Good Vibrations 50% 250-331 0342 linda@goodvibrationsenergy.com`
Green Spirit Acupuncture cw$65 and CAD$20 250-218 2618 michel_duhameau@yahoo.ca
Halstead Farm 25% or negotiable 250-337 5589 www.halsteadfarm.ca
Healing Bliss Botanicals 25% – 50% redeemable at the CV Farmer’s Market and direct retail 250-338 8872 www.healingblissbotanicals.com
Herb n’ Wear 40% excluding items on sale 250-338 0111 www.herbnwear.ca
Island Pilates and Fitness Studio 50% 250-703 2673 www.islandpilates.ca
Island Word 50% up to 1/8 page, 35% from 1/4 page and larger (advertising) 250-336 2143 islandword@shaw.ca
Jobird Music 100% 250-336 2474 www.joannafinch.ca
Jump Camp (Vancouver Island’s Premier Snowboarding Camp) 50% 250-898 8891 jumpcamp.com
Larry Ayre, Guitarist, Music Teacher negotiable 50-100% 250 338 6478 larryayreguitarist.com
Lots of Laughs.ca 50% on Yard Cards, 40% on Balloon related purchases 250-339-9968 www.lotsoflaughs.ca
Nia North Island 100% for Nia and Bone Deep Dance 250-336 0238 www.joyfulfitness.blogspot.ca/
Nichol Ward Artist 100% 250-703 6253 nicholward@gmail.com
North Island Inspection Services 50% negotiable 250 338 1947 / 250 897 5265 www.northislandinspections.com
On the Dark Side Tanning 50% on services 250-703 0207 onthe_darkside@live.ca
Phyllis Chubb Counselling & Coaching 75% 250 757 9498 phyllischubb.com
Prana Palms 50% 250-898 7539 pranapalms@gmail.com
Rusty Rooster 35% excluding items on sale 250-336 8116 rustyrooster@telus.net
SURE Copy 50% on in house products. Negotiable on outsourced items and design. 250-334 2836 surecourtenay.ca
Tarbell’s Cafe / Gallery 50% excluding alcoholic beverages 250 336 8863 tarbellscumberland@gmail.com
Thai Sauce Co. 50% 250-338 0751 bhuddart@telus.net
Totem Massage Therapy 100% initial, 50% subsequent visits 250-338 5557 daughterofdina@hotmail.com
White Caps Cappucino 100% on coffee dandrew22@hotmail.com
Wstudio Massage Therapy Clinic 50% negotiable 250-218 0201 wstudiomassage.com
Zocalo Cafe 50% excluding liquor/retail/gallery 250-331 0933 www.zocalocafe.ca

Which community organisations are involved?

Comox Valley Peace Group
 Ernie Yacub
CV Therapeutic Riding Society Margaret Hind www.cvtrs.com
Double Waters Society Jacqueline Watson www.doublewaters.ca
Gardens Without Borders Thierry Vrain http://gardenswithoutborders.org
Comox Valley Hospice Society Terri Odeneal www.comoxhospice.com
Lake Trail Neighbourhood Connections http://laketrailneighbourhoodconnections.blogspot.com
4R’s Education Centre Trenna McCaffrey http://www.4rseducation.com
Adult Learning Centre Karen Barr http://www.cvalc.com
AIDS Vancouver Island Sarah Sullivan http://www.avi.org
Aspen Park Elementary School Corinne Wester (Principal) http://web.sd71.bc.ca/aspen/
Black Creek Community Association Candice Spain www.bccaonline.ca
Community Justice Centre Bruce Curtis http://www.cjc-comoxvalley.com
Comox Valley Montessori Society Pauline Rae www.cvmontessori.com
Courtenay Elementary School D. Robertson (Vice Principal) http://web.sd71.bc.ca/courtenay_el/
Cumberland Community Forest Society Andrew Nicoll http://www.cumberlandforest.com
CV Affordable Housing Society Betty-Anne Juba http://cvaffordablehousing.org
CV Boys & Girls Club Joanne Petersen http://cvboysandgirlsclub.ca
CV Child Development Association Lorraine Aitken http://cvcda.ca/
CV Community Kitchen Project Ann Marie Lisch http://cvcommunitykitchenproject.blogspot.com
CV Environmental Council Larry Peterson 250-338 8675
CV Head Injury Society Winna Mitchell http://www.cvheadinjury.com
CV Transition Society Heather Ney http://www.cvts.ca
CV Understanding Men Society Eduardo Uranga 250-338 7652
CV Women’s Resource Centre Kassandra Dycke http://www.comoxvalleywomenscentre.com
Dawn to Dawn: Action on Homelessness Dale Bishop http://dawntodawn.org
Earthsave Comox Valley Bob Huddart 250-338 0751
Food Not Bombs aka Yoda Food Samantha 250-334 8886
Friends of Bute Inlet Lannie Keller www.buteinlet.net
Kidsport Comox Valley Garry Dewitt / L Anderson http://www.kidsport.ca
Kitty Cat P.A.L. Society Larissa Whitby http://kittycatpals.com
L’Arche Comox Valley Jennifer Pass 250-334-8320
Lani Alton Society David Stapley https://sites.google.com/site/thelanialtonsociety/home
Lush Valley Food Action Society Jean Dugal or Bunny Shannon http://www.lushvalley.org
Morrison Creek Streamkeepers Steve Harvey www.morrisoncreek.org
New Bark Canine Re-homing Larissa Whitby www.newbarkrescue.com
North Island Compassion Club nicc2010.cv@gmail.com
Project Watershed Caila Holbrook http://maps.projectwatershed.bc.ca
Saltwater School Kendra Quince http://www.saltwaterschool.com
Sierra Club Comox Valley Mike Bell http://www.sierraclub.bc.ca/local-groups/comox valley
World Community Ed Carswell http://www.worldcommunity.ca

Recent News and Events